Skip to main content

Faculty of Educational Studies Orients Students on Supported Teaching in Schools

Faculty of Educational Studies has organised a three-day faculty orientation on Supported Teaching in Schools (STS) for students of the departments of Basic Education, Early Childhood Care and Education, and Special Education. 

The seminar, which took place at Jophus Anamuah-Mensah Conference Centre Car Park, North Campus, Winneba, was under the theme “Effective STS partnership in schools: The role of the students and lecturers in promoting quality teaching”.

The Head of Department, Early Childhood Education, Dr. Yayra Dzakadzie speaking on behalf of the Dean, Faculty of Educational Studies, Prof Samuel Hayford, accentuated the “dos” and the “don’ts” of STS, what students are likely to experience, and how student-teachers will enter the schools.

He said that STS was quite recently introduced into the new curriculum to give the practising student-teachers enough opportunities to practice in a real classroom environment. This is intended to help student-teachers to observe things around them both on campus and in the classroom, school activities as well as note some recordings using enumerative skills and checklist as their mentors are expected to do and write a report on them.

Head, Department of Early Childhood Education, Dr. Yayra Dzakadzie speaking on behalf of the Dean of the Faculty

He added that the Supported Teaching in School (STS) takes 30% of the entire curriculum which came into existence with the introduction of the four-year Bachelor of Education (B.Ed) curriculum. He, therefore, urged the students to be up to the task by taking everything they are being taught seriously because they will soon account for it.

Content for the training session highlights activities before, during and after STS, Assessment of STS, and the portfolio.

The three-day seminar was facilitated by seasoned lecturers namely Mr. Simon Donkor, Basic Education; Dr. Samuel Oppong Frimpong, Department of Early Childhood Education; Mr. Justice Gideon Adjerakor, Department of Early Childhood Education; Dr. Praise Otami, Department of Early Child Education.


© 2019 University of Education, Winneba