Skip to main content

Brief History

The University of Education, Winneba (UEW) was established in September, 1992 as a University College under PNDC Law 322. On 14th May, 2004, the University of Education Act, (2004) Act 672 was enacted to upgrade the status of the University College of Education of Winneba to the status of a full University.

The University College of Education of Winneba brought together seven diploma awarding colleges located in different towns under one umbrella institution. These Colleges were the Advanced Teacher Training College, the Specialist Training College and the National

Academy of Music, all at Winneba; the School of Ghana Languages, Ajumako; the College of Special Education, Akwapim- Mampong; the Advanced Technical Training College, Kumasi; and the St. Andrews Agricultural Training College, Asante-Mampong.

By enactment of the Akenten Appiah-Menka University of Skills Training and Entrepreneurial Development Act (2020) Act 1026, the Kumasi and Asante-Mampong Campuses have ceased to be satelitte campuses of UEW.

© 2019 University of Education, Winneba