Skip to main content

About Us

Leader in Teacher Education

Brief history 

The Faculty of Science Education started as the Division of Science Education with three Departments - The Department of Mathematics Education, The Department of Science Education and The Department of Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Sports. Presently, the Division has ten Departments. The change from ‘Division’ to Faculty came with the University’s autonomy. In 2009, the Science Education Department broke up into four Departments namely: Biology Education, Chemistry Education, Integrated Science Education and Physics Education. The Department of Home Economics Education which was initially under the Division of Applied Arts and Technology Education (DAATE) also became part of the Division after DAATE was relocated to Kumasi campus. The ICT Unit also became an academic Department. In 2013, the Department of Health Administration and Education also came on board. 

The Deans who have headed the Faculty since its inception are:

  • Dr. Primrose Cofie
  • Prof. Damian Kofi Mereku
  • Prof. Mawuadem Koku Amedeker
  • Prof. Jonathan Osbert Ayi Armah
  • Prof. Samuel Kwesi Asiedu-Addo                   
  • Prof. Ruby Hanson                                          


To become a Centre of excellence in Science Education and its Allied disciplines within Ghana, Africa, and globally.

Vision Statement

To imbue our students with all the current and relevant pedagogical and integrated knowledge that will equip them with skills to integrate national values in teaching and learning across all levels of the educational system.


The goals of the faculty are:

  • To administer and coordinate departmental activities within the Faculty
  • To guarantee the overall attainment of efficient academic delivery in every department  under the Faculty
  • To oversee the academic/administrative management in the Departments
  • To direct departmental operations within the context of UEW’s Corporate Strategic Plan and Statutory Regulations.


The Faculty has the under-listed resources:

  • Faculty library
  • Home Economics Education library 
  • HPERS library
  • HPERS Gym
  • Foods Laboratory in the Home Economics Education Department 

Science Laboratories in the Science Faculty.

The Faculty of Science Education currently has nine academic departments and three service units. The Departments of the Faculty include:

  • Department of Biology Education 
  • Department of Chemistry Education 
  • Department of Health Administration and Education 
  • Department of Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Sports (HPERS)
  • Department of Home Economics Education 
  • Department of Information and Communications Technology Education
  • Department of Integrated Science Education  
  • Department of Mathematics Education
  • Department of  Physics Education 

The three Service Units under the Faculty are: 

  • Food Production Unit & (under the Department of Home Economics Education)
  • Clothing Production Unit (under the Department of Home Economics Education)
  • The ICT Technical Support Unit (which emerged out of the Department of Information and Communication Technology Education). 

Currently, the academic programmes offered in the Faculty are:

  • Diploma in Sports Coaching
  • B.Sc. Biology Education
  • B.Sc. Chemistry Education
  • B.Sc. Health Administration and Education
  • B.Sc. Home Economics Education
  • B.Sc. Information and Communication Technology Education
  • B.Sc. Integrated Science Education
  • B.Sc. Mathematics Education
  • B.Sc. Physical Education
  • B.Sc. Physics Education
  • B.Sc. Sports Coaching
  • M.Ed. Science Education
  • M.Ed. Mathematics Education
  • M.Ed. Physical Education
  • M.Ed. Home Economics Education
  • M.Phil. Chemistry Education
  • M.Phil. Home Economics Education
  • M.Phil. Science Education
  • M.Phil. Mathematics Education
  • M.Phil. Physical Education
  • PhD. Science Education
  • PhD. Mathematics Education 


Dean’s Office Telephone: 020 204 1130


© 2019 University of Education, Winneba