UEW inaugrates 6th Governing Council

A 17-member council has been inaugurated at the University of Education, Winneba on Thursday 30th June, 2016. The Honourable Minister for Education, Professor Naana Jane Opoku-Agyemang administered the oath of office and secrecy to the new council at a ceremony held at the Council Chamber of the University of Education, Winneba.

In a speech delivered on behalf of the President of the Republic of Ghana, His Excellency John Dramani Mahama, Prof. Opoku-Agyemang urged the new council to bring their varied expertise to bear on their work and deliver their duties to their fullest capacities and abilities to achieve the mandate of the University. Speaking on government efforts in the education sector, she threw light on the great work accomplished by government in the education sector including the establishments of institutions, facilitating the work of teachers through ICT, setting up of 1 million dollar award prize for the best teacher, promoting the youth and giving them the right training and several others.

She commended UEW for its effort in ensuring that scholarship, research and learning is highly promoted among staff and students through the institutionalization of the Scholarship and Research Funds. She showed appreciation to the former council for their supports and contributions which sustained excellence in the quality education delivery of the University.

On his part, the new Chairman of the Governing Council, Prof. Richard Tuyee Awuah, in his acceptance speech acknowledged the previous council for the good work done during their period in office. He noted that having served for a while on the previous Council, the experience he has acquired will help the new council to safeguard all the resources of the university. He pledged on behalf of his team to work in harmony with all the constituent bodies of the University including Management, faculty, staff and students to maintain the University’s position as the premier University of teacher Education in Ghana and the ECOWAS Sub-Region.

The new Council has Prof. Richard Tuyee Awuah as Chairman, Dr. Henrietta Rowena Asare as Member, Dr. Pasmor Kuranchie as Member. Also, it has Prof. Yaw Afari Ankomah as Member, Prof. Mawutor Avoke as Member, Mr. Jacob A. M. Kor as Member. Again, it has Prof. Mohammed Salifu as Member, Rt. Rev. Matthew K. Gyamfi as Member, Mr. Christian Davlopo as Member, Mr. Emmanuel Osei Sarpong as Member, Mr. Bruno Bajuaose Chirani as Member, Dr. Samuel Bekoe, Member as Prof. Yaw Serekye Annor as Member, Dr. Stephen Jobson Mitchual as Member, Mr. Samuel Ofori Danquah as Member, Mr. Jarvis Kojo Koffie as Member and Ms.Theresa Ackon as Member.