Department of Psychology and Education Urged to Attract International Students

The Department of Psychology and Education has been urged to develop new programmes that attract international students as well as produce 21st Century teachers who will promote collaboration, engage students and facilitate learning in the classroom. This should be guided by the national goal of teacher education.  

The admonishment was given during a four-day Departmental Retreat held at the Royal Lee Hotel, Tutu near Aburi in the Eastern Region of Ghana from Wednesday, 19th to Saturday, 22nd September, 2018. The theme for the Retreat was “Looking Back, Moving Forward: Developing Programmes for the Emergence of two Departments”.

In his Address to the participants, the Dean, Faculty of Educational Studies, Prof. Samuel K. Hayford lauded the vision of the Head of Department (HoD) and his team. He also encouraged them to put in their best to make the vision a reality.

Prof. Hayford implored the participants to cooperate with the HoD and help in attaining results on time and entreated participants to work at restoring the Department’s former reputation as the “base around which the University rotates”.

In his Welcome Address and Purpose for the Retreat, the HoD, Dr. Dandy G. Dampson called on participants to reflect on the theme and re-organise activities to align with teacher education reform in Ghana.

The HoD indicated that the Department had reached an advanced stage of rolling out a new programme, MPhil in Curriculum and Instruction for the next academic year whilst a committee had been tasked to design M.Phil Measurement and Evaluation.

More urgently, Dr. Dampson stressed on the splitting of the Department into two – Department of Educational Foundations and Department of Counselling Psychology.

Present at the retreat were the Dean, Faculty of Educational Studies (FES), Prof. Samuel K. Hayford; Vice Dean, FES, Dr. Stephen Antwi-Danso; Head of Department, Psychology and Education, Dr. Dandy G. Dampson.   

Also in attendance were Prof. Samuel Adebule, Dr. Stephen Antwi-Danso, Dr. Samuel Asare Amoah, Dr. Paul K. A. Bedu-Addo, Dr. Matthew Kojo Namale, Rev. Dr. Kwesi Nkum Wilson, Dr. Richardson Addai-Munumkum, Mr. Eric Ofosu-Dwamena, Dr. Winston Kwame Abroampa, Mr. Paul Kobina Effrim, Mr. Stephen Kwakye Apau, Mr. Yayra Dzakadzie and Mr. Kizito K. E. Ackom.   

Staff of the Department in a group photograph after the programme